The Finchley Society was founded in 1971 by a group of local residents, when a row of Victorian cottages built in 1829 was under threat of demolition in Lodge Lane. Jean Scott, the founder of the Society, and at that time the Greater London Council member for Finchley, enlisted the support of Bill Tyler, a local architect, and Spike Milligan, then living in Holden Road. Spike was later to become our Patron.
This battle was won, but the pressure from developers is even greater today. The Society’s continues to work to protect, preserve and improve buildings, transport, roads and open spaces in Finchley and Friern Barnet and their environs, and to explore the history and the special features of the area. The Society covers the old Borough of Finchley and the Urban District of Friern Barnet, now part of the London Borough of Barnet, and takes an interest in most aspects of life in the community. Our area of benefit can be seen here.
Our meetings take place in Avenue House (located in Stephens House and Gardens), usually on the last Thursday of every month (except July, August and December). Non-members are welcome to attend these meetings
In addition to these meetings, our activities fall into three main areas:
The Society is a Registered Charity (No. 266403). Our area of benefit is Finchley and Friern Barnet, which are depicted on a map here.
The Society is independent of the Borough Council and of all political parties. It is guided by its Executive Committee (who are its Trustees). Joanna Lumley is our Patron, and David Smith is our President.